Compare
ServiceM8 vs Tradify for Plasterers: Quoting, Cost & Ease of Use
Published 16 September 2026 · Sources checked 16 September 2026
If you’re running a one-to-three person plastering business, ServiceM8 and Tradify are two of the names that come up most often when you search for something to handle quoting and invoicing. Here’s what each vendor’s own site shows today on cost, quoting speed and how easy either one is to get going with, checked directly rather than through a reseller’s comparison table.
What each one costs for a small team
| Provider | Pricing model | Solo plasterer | 3-person team | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ServiceM8 [1] | Priced by monthly job volume, not by user | Free plan: £0 (1 user, 30 jobs/month), or £25/month on Starter | £25/month on Starter (unlimited users, up to 50 jobs/month), or £59/month on Growing (up to 150 jobs/month) | 14 days |
| Tradify [2] | Priced per user, per month | £34/month on Lite | £102/month on Lite (3 x £34), £111/month on Pro (3 x £37) | 14 days |
The first thing that matters for a small plastering team is what each product actually charges you for. ServiceM8 doesn’t price per person at all - every paid tier includes unlimited users, and the figure that changes between tiers is how many jobs you run each month [1]. Its Starter plan is £25 a month for unlimited users and up to 50 jobs, rising to £59 for 150 jobs and £119 for 500 jobs, with a free plan capped at one user and 30 jobs a month [1]. Tradify does the opposite: it charges per person, at £34 a month on Lite, £37 on Pro or £44 on Plus, so the bill grows in a straight line as you add a second or third plasterer [2]. For a sole trader the two are close - one Tradify Lite seat at £34 a month against ServiceM8’s £25 Starter plan [1][2]. Add two more people and they pull apart fast: three Tradify Lite seats come to £102 a month, while three plasterers sharing ServiceM8’s Starter plan still pay £25 a month between them as long as job volume stays under 50 a month [1][2]. Both offer a 14-day free trial before any card details commit you to a paid tier [1][2]. ServiceM8’s pricing page states its listed prices exclude VAT and are issued to UK customers as reverse-charge invoices [1]; Tradify’s UK pricing page does not say either way, so its £34-£44 per-user figures should be treated as unconfirmed on VAT treatment [2].
Which trades each one is actually built for
Tradify names plastering directly. Its trades page lists Plastering by name alongside more than sixty other trades it says the software supports, with a line describing how plastering businesses use it to schedule jobs and invoice a customer as soon as the work is finished [3]. ServiceM8’s own homepage doesn’t mention plastering anywhere - it names electricians, plumbers, HVAC, cleaning, locksmith, pool service, pest control, lawn care and appliance repair as the trades it markets to, positioning itself as software for “trades & service contractors” more broadly rather than for plastering specifically [4]. Neither page describes a plastering-specific workflow such as coat sequencing or drying-time scheduling, so that gap is listed above as unverified rather than assumed either way. What the two pages do show is which vendor is actively naming plasterers as a target customer and which is not.
Quoting speed and setup
Both vendors’ own feature pages centre their quoting pitch on speed rather than depth. ServiceM8’s UK quoting page promises to help you “create job-winning quotes, fast” and turn a finished job into a “professional PDF invoice in seconds” from the mobile app on site [5]. It also offers an AI Auto-Quote tool that reads a job card’s description, checklist, notes and time on site, then drafts a materials-and-labour list and a description of work for you to review and edit before sending, rather than sending automatically [6]. One plumbing business quoted on ServiceM8’s own site, Prowater Plumbing, says it “took us no more than 2 hours to set up” [6] - a useful data point on how quick the onboarding can be, though it’s a plumbing customer’s experience rather than a plasterer’s.
Tradify’s quoting page makes a direct speed claim of its own: it says saved templates, price lists and material kits help a user “create professional quotes 2x faster,” built and sent from a phone or tablet on site or from the van rather than back at a desk [7]. Both products let a customer accept a quote online without a phone call back and forth - ServiceM8 through online quote acceptance built into its quoting feature [5], and Tradify through an emailed quote the customer can accept or comment on directly [7]. For a one-to-three person team where the same person plasters the wall and writes the quote, that on-site, no-desk-required workflow matters more than any single feature list.
Which one if…
- You want the cheapest option while it’s just you or two of you, and your job count stays modest: ServiceM8’s Starter plan is £25 a month for unlimited users up to 50 jobs, which a one-to-three person team is unlikely to exceed on most weeks [1].
- You want a vendor that names plastering as a trade it builds for: Tradify’s trades page lists Plastering directly; ServiceM8’s homepage does not [3][4].
- You want your quotes pre-drafted from the job card rather than built from a blank template: ServiceM8’s AI Auto-Quote reads job notes and time on site to suggest a materials-and-labour list [6].
- You’d rather pay a predictable amount per person as you hire: Tradify’s £34-£44 per-user pricing gives you one number to budget against every new hire, even though it costs more than ServiceM8 once you’re past one user [2].
What to do next
Neither pricing page tells you which model actually costs less once you know your real monthly job count and how many people need a login - ServiceM8’s £25-£119 job-volume tiers, or Tradify’s £34-£44 per-user tiers [1][2]. Loomwork Ai runs a short paid audit that maps your current quoting and invoicing workflow against both platforms before you commit to either.
Sources
- ServiceM8 Pricing | United Kingdom — ServiceM8, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.servicem8.com/uk/pricing
- Pricing & Plans — Tradify, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.tradifyhq.com/uk/pricing
- Who Can Use Tradify? | Trades — Tradify, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.tradifyhq.com/trades
- Smart Job Management Software | ServiceM8 — ServiceM8, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.servicem8.com/
- Job Quoting & Invoicing Software | ServiceM8 — ServiceM8, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.servicem8.com/uk/features-quoting-invoicing
- AI Quoting, Invoicing & CRM for Tradies | ServiceM8 — ServiceM8, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.servicem8.com/ai-job-management-software-for-trade-contractors
- Job Quoting Software | Try Free! — Tradify, accessed 16 September 2026. https://www.tradifyhq.com/features/quoting-software
Not yet verified
- Whether Tradify's advertised UK per-user prices are shown inclusive or exclusive of VAT, since its pricing page does not state this either way; ServiceM8's UK pricing page does confirm its listed prices exclude VAT, issued to UK customers as reverse-charge invoices
- Whether Tradify sets any minimum number of users or a minimum contract length, since its UK pricing page does not state one
- Whether ServiceM8's own site describes any plastering-specific workflow (such as coat sequencing or drying-time scheduling), since neither its homepage nor its feature pages mention plastering by name